Advisory Board

  • Members of the Bar Advising Us
    for the betterment of the competition.

    Drop Us a Message
  • The PRTAC is proud and extremely grateful to have an outstanding and respected group of members of the Bar advising us for the betterment of the competition:

Meet Our Honor Members

  • torruella

    Hon. Juan R. Torruella (R.I.P.)

    Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

    Torruella began his career in private practice in San Juan, Puerto Rico in 1959. In 1974, President Gerald Ford nominated Torruella to serve as a judge of the United States District Court for the District of Puerto Rico. In this court, Torruella served as chief judge from 1982 to 1984. Judge Torruella was on the Competition’s Board since the very first year and was always an avid supporter of our project. Torruella passed away in 2020 and will be greatly missed.

  • fiol

    Hon. Liana Fiol Matta (Ret.)

    Chief Justice (Ret.), Puerto Rico Supreme Court

    Fiol received her Law degree from the University of Puerto Rico, Magna Cum Laude, and later her Masters and Doctorate degree from Columbia University. She was a law professor in PR during the 1980s until she was appointed Judge of the Court of Appeals of PR by Governor Rafael Hernández Colón.

  • anabelle

    Hon. Anabelle Rodríguez

    Associate Justice, Puerto Rico Supreme Court

    In 2001 was appointed Attorney General of Puerto Rico. In 2004, Sila Calderon appointed Rodriguez to the Supreme Court. She officially took office on August 19, 2004 becoming the third woman ever to serve in the Supreme Court of PR.

  • delgado

    Hon. Aida M. Delgado-Colón

    Judge, U.S. District Court – District of Puerto Rico

    She is only the second female on the bench in the District of PR, after pioneering District Judge and former Chief Judge Carmen Consuelo Vargas, who has served for nearly three decades. In 2011, she also became the second female Chief Judge in the District of PR, succeeding Judge José A. Fusté.

  • besosa

    Hon. Francisco A. Besosa

    Judge, U.S. District Court – District of Puerto Rico

    After a long career as an attorney, including a stint as Assistant U.S. Attorney from 1983 to 1986, he was appointed by President George W. Bush to the federal bench in 2006, to fill the vacancy on the US District Court for the District of PR created by Juan M. Pérez taking on senior status as a Senior District Court Judge.

  • Advisory Board

    Hon. Mildred Cabán

    Chief Judge, U.S. Bankruptcy Court – District of Puerto Rico

    Judge Cabán is the Chief Judge of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Puerto Rico, appointed in 2010.  She graduated from Barnard College and studied law at New York University. Cabán began her career as a law clerk to Judge Laffitte and prior to being appointed, was a partner at one of the most prestigious law firms on the island.

  • enrique

    Hon. Enrique S. Lamoutte

    Judge, U.S. Bankruptcy Court – District of Puerto Rico

    Is a U.S. Bankruptcy Judge for the District of PR in San Juan, appointed in 1986. He is currently the chief judge of the U.S. Bankruptcy Appellate Panel for the First Circuit.  Previously served as law clerk to U.S. District Judge Hernán G. Pesquera, clerk of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of PR, and chief of the Civil Division of the U.S. Attorney’s Office.

  • Hon. David Navarro

    Judge, Circuit Court of Cook County, Illinois

    David Navarro graduated from the University of Chicago and then went on to study law at the University of Iowa College of Law, where he graduated in 1993. Judge Navarro was elected to the bench in 2018. He presently serves as Supervising Judge of the Pre-Trial Division.